About Us

The SNP is Scotland’s national party – we serve every part of our nation. Our members are organised into local branches. City of Stirling SNP is the branch covering the three council wards of Stirling North, Stirling West and Stirling East (wards 4,5 and 6 – details can be found at the Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland). These wards were amended at the local elections on 4 May 2017. Roughly speaking, this is extends to an area covering: the Carron Valley Reservoir in the South-West; about a mile short of Gagunnock in the West; Raploch, Cornton, Causewayhead and the University of Stirling in the North; Cambuskenneth, Springkerse and Blairlogie in the East, to Borestone and St Ninians, and just short of Bannockburn in the South.

At a local level we organise things like canvassing and leafleting, the city centre information stall, and support campaigning. Our branch currently has four councillors elected to Stirling council:

Susan McGill and Cllr Jim Thompson

Cllr Susan McGill and Cllr Jim Thompson

Scott Farmer

Cllr Scott Farmer

Alison Lawrie

Cllr Alison Lawrie

City of Stirling branch has monthly meetings for members to coordinate activities, and discuss topics of interest. The branch is led by our executive. There are also three branch sub-groups for members to get more involved in Communications, Fundraising and Organising. See our contact page for ways to get in touch with the key people in the branch.

Branches then organise into groups to support campaigns for national elections. We come together with Bannockburn, Trossachs & Teith and Strathendrick branches as the Stirling constituency association (CA). The CA has a meeting each month, and organises campaigning for the Stirling constituency in the Scottish Parliament. Stirling’s current MSP is Bruce Crawford of the SNP.

Image of Bruce Crawford msp

Bruce Crawford MSP for Stirling

We also come together with the branches in the CA, plus Dunblane and Bridge of Allan & Logie branches, to choose our candidate and campaign for the Stirling constituency at Westminster, with a very close result in 2017 when Steven Paterson missed out on re-election by only 148 votes. You can see where the Holyrood and Westminster constituencies for Stirling extend to here.

The branch can also send delegates to national conference, which meets twice a year to determine national policies for our party. In this way, ordinary members can contribute to the decision making of the party, and as the SNP currently forms the Scottish Government, can contribute to how our country is run.

If you’re not a member of the SNP but would like to be, see the SNP website for more information.